Software forge federation research its UX with Penpot

Bonjour,

I’m a software developer for the forgefriends project, working to create communication bridges between forges such as GitHub, GItLab or Gitea. After completing User Research last year, the next frontier is to design a UX that matches users needs. Since I’m a Free Software vegetarian (never eating proprietary software, even when it is good), Penpot really is the only option. It will also be my first time working with UX designers and discover this bright new world.

It started happening just a few days ago in a dedicated category of the forgefriends forum and if anyone is curious to see how it goes they are welcome to lurk. In addition to being committed to Free Software (exclusively), the project is radically transparent.

To be continued!

13 Likes

Bonsoir @dachary!

Might have I learned about this project on the open source design discourse? yeah! I found it How to improve collaboration between Dev and Ux designers in an open source project? - #3 by dachary - Communication and collaboration - Open Source Design

So, I read the main docs and what the project is about and, wow, we do need you to build something compelling here! I totally agree with the rationale and mission of the project. At Kaleidos (the company behind Penpot) we have this conflict every single time we develop internal prototypes for our PIWEEKs (personal innovation weeks). Should we use our internal Gitlab instance or post it on Github? Why can’t we just get rid of that dichotomy? I’m seeing similar “federation” efforts in social networks like Twitter and Mastodon, for instance but, of course, forges are much complex in the sense that there are a ton of different interactions and stuff on top of just git commands.