A comprehensive list of feedback and ideas

Hello,

I’m a designer and creative web developer from Budapest, Hungary. I’ve been using Penpot for ca. two months as my primary tool for presentation, and UI design, on Linux. I’m quite amazed by Penpot, and really happy that it exists. :slightly_smiling_face: I tought it might be a good idea to do a comprehensive list of bugs, and improvement- and feature ideas until I’m really into it (to maybe improve it further).

I’m also a Figma user, which I tell to put my feedback into context (and that some points might be trivial).

Bugs

• When moving a file from one platform to another (e.g. from Penpot to an Elestio instance), custom fonts don’t work on the target platform, even though they’re installed on both. On the target platform they’re displayed as ‘Font deleted’, and have to be explicitly reconfigured (either on a per element basis, or in Assets).
  • When moving a file from one team to another, editing text in the file within the new team sometimes doesn’t work. The entered new text only gets displayed while editing, but when exiting the text box, changes don’t get rendered. It seems like a caching issue, as deleting browser cache resolves the problem. Similar bug to the above (custom fonts missing when installed) might also be present sometimes, when moving not platforms, but teams.
  • Component instances, that were resized, sometimes get reset to their original size. It doesn’t happen consistently: only happens in some cases, and only to some (not all) overriden components.
  • Resizing artboards sometimes also resizes contained elements. Think of a website screen design’s section, or similar. It can be prevented by grouping and locking the problematic element before the artboard-resize action (as a temporary workaround).
  • In the numeric input fields, calculations (e.g. +/-) only work right on the first artboard, with zero offset.

Improvements and new features