Using version-control to collaboratively work on Penpot

Hello Penpotters :smiling_face:

The use of SVG as a format for Penpot files opens the door to a topic that is very close to my heart. Developers and designers often work together, and this close collaboration gives us the invaluable opportunity to get to know (and borrow!) each other’s tools.

It was love at first sight for Git, and there are at least two things that as a designer I find extremely useful and would like to have in my Penpot:

• Having access to the history of a graphic document (and of the single components). This has already been partially implemented with the History panel. Is there a plan of further development for this feature?

• Working with a “framework” similar to that we use for development. I am referring in particular to pull/merge requests, the creation of different branches and the test and review system while keeping somehow a trace of the contributions.

I don’t know how many times I have needed to show the many iterations that led to the development of a certain version, or to compare and test many different versions of the same board. One always has to find intricate solutions to do this, and usually the result is not immediately understandable to those who wish to collaborate.

Ok, let’s dream for a second: I would also love to have all this synced on the git repository together with code and documentation of a project. I am aware that the way Git works (line-based diffs) makes this idea a bit cumbersome, but maybe there is already some project in this regard or someone has a strong opinion on this point. There may be version-control systems more fit to work with XML than GIT. That is an area where development might be needed. I would like to know what you think.

4 Likes

HI @val . I must confess that, since we decided to use svg format, we were as excited as you with the possibility of doing some kind of git-style version control.