How my test drive with Penpot went

I’m a senior designer mainly doing UX/UI and service design. I work for a mid size (~250 employees) IT consultancy company. I’m currently using Figma as my main work tool, but I spend couple of days end of last year to test Penpot and share the findings with my designer colleagues. While doing that, I thought that why not share the same things here for everyone to see.

I think while Figma is working very well, they are moving towards the direction where the goal is to just increase the license pricing while not providing too much value for that price increase. Also the UI is getting cluttered and to me it looks like that they just have different teams working on different features without too much alignment.

This has taken me here and to try out Penpot and see where it is currently. I have tried it previously like a year ago or something, and at that time it was not suitable for my workflow. So here are my thoughts:

Negatives:

• Currently the feature set is super limited when compared to Figma, meaning that it is not a suitable alternative as is imo. Biggest missing feature is component variants, which makes a huge impact in terms of how components are build as well as makes it closer to how it is done in code. For me this is the biggest blocker, as I maintain hundreds of components and work on creating new as well as editing current ones on daily basis.
  • Similar can be said about work flow which is pretty bad compared to Figma. Overall updating the design tokens is pretty slow and the current UI makes this somewhat hard. Same applies for using these tokens in the design work and within components. While Figma’s latest variables is still a mess, it is still a big step forward in terms of token handling.